Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019

Long-term economic growth in Seaside has been an issue at the forefront of many recent discussions, and at 7pm, Thursday, Aug. 15, the City Council is scheduled to take another step towards supporting future job growth and business opportunities—hand in hand with knowledgeable volunteers.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019

Beep, beep: Car Week is here. The influx of car aficionados will keep local restaurants busy, so here are some good tips for dining out this week. Call ahead for reservations and wait times, especially if you’re dining in a group of four or more. If you do manage to snag a reservation and ca…

Friday, August 09, 2019
Wednesday, August 07, 2019

The players in what is Carmel’s long-running debate over beach fires were back on the field at the City Council meeting on Aug. 6 for another contest. The competitors—anti- versus pro- wood-burning fires—faced off with the usual plays, both offense and defense.

Tuesday, August 06, 2019

Salinas Valley Food & Wine arrives this weekend. Festivities start with the kick-off party on Friday, Aug. 9. Sample beer from local home brewers and wines from local wineries. Food trucks will also be on hand with food for sale (5-8pm, Salinas City Center, $20). Saturday sees a lively s…

Monday, August 05, 2019
Thursday, August 01, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019

One of the largest real estate projects in the history of the Monterey Peninsula is entering the last phase of the planning process. Known as Campus Town, the proposed project in Seaside includes 1,500 housing units, 250 hotel rooms and considerable office and retail space.

Monday, July 29, 2019

Pay Back…Squid admits to having made a prank call or two as a squidlet back in the day before caller ID (“Hey there was a fight near your lair…several fish were battered!”). Squid found this pastime hilarious. Back then, young’ns only had access to landlines and phone books, and resulted in …

Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019

It's a first for California, and a first for State Sen. Bill Monning, D-Carmel. Gov. Gavin Newsom signed SB 200 into law today flanked by supporters in the Central Valley city of Sanger in a signing ceremony—the first such ceremony for the signing of any of Monning's 100-plus bills since he …

Monday, July 22, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019

This year’s Bach Festival was disrupted Friday afternoon as Carmel Police investigated a bomb threat at the Sunset Center in Carmel. At 12:18pm, a group of youth sat in the Sunset Center to hear a performance, when a 10-year-old audience member received a text message that read:  “Bomb Plant…

Historians are still grappling with the fallout—the human agony, the cultural damage, the vast fields of destruction—left by the bloody and terrible Clam Chowder War. The horrific Saving Private Ryan scenes (“The area before the house was paved with clam-shells.”)? How America’s “greatest ge…

Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019

The water utility for the Monterey Peninsula has overcome widespread opposition among ratepayers’ to its proposed desalination plant, securing a critical development permit from the county’s Board of Supervisors on July 15. 

Monday, July 15, 2019

Chopstix has opened its fourth location, this one in Carmel Rancho Center. The opening brings popular Vietnamese concept’s signature pho, banh mi sandwiches, rice bowls and of course boba beverages to Carmel. The restaurant is offering a limited-time 15 percent discount for grand opening fes…

Seaside’s 73rd annual Obon Festival—a centuries old Japanese festival to honor the dead—was an awesome amalgam of community, culture and food. Parking was scarce around the Monterey Peninsula Buddhist Temple, but that didn’t stop the community from coming out in droves, an estimated 3,000 or…

Sunday, July 14, 2019