Saturday, September 19, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Following pressure from residents of Big Sur, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection is abandoning plans to situate a surveillance system with a tower at the Lucia Ranch property on the South Coast, according to an email received Sept. 14 by the office of Monterey County Supervisor Mary Adams. 

Saturday, September 12, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Wednesday, September 09, 2020
Tuesday, September 08, 2020
Sunday, September 06, 2020
Saturday, September 05, 2020

Time to hunker down with the blinds drawn and fan running while holding a tall, cool drink, preferably water, and lots of it. An excessive heat warning is in effect from 11am Saturday through 9pm, Monday, Sept. 7. The National Weather Service is predicting record-breaking or near-record-brea…

Friday, September 04, 2020
Thursday, September 03, 2020
Wednesday, September 02, 2020
Tuesday, September 01, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020

After a lot of talk by Pres. Donald Trump that testing for Covid-19 is "overrated" and suggesting that there is too much testing going on, the Centers for Disease Control reversed itself on testing for people with no symptoms to mild symptoms who have come in contact with someone with the di…

Thursday, August 27, 2020

A beloved outdoor recreation and picnic area for Salinas Valley and Monterey Peninsula residents, Toro Park has been badly damaged by the River Fire will not reopen any time soon, according to Monterey County public information officer Maia Carroll. 

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

As efforts to contain the Dolan Fire in Big Sur continue, officials on Aug. 26 issued an order closing an area of Los Padres National Forest stretching from just north of Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park to Nacimiento-Fergusson Road. Violating the closure carries a penalty of $5,000 and/or si…

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

The  River, Dolan and Carmel fires infused the air with toxic contaminants making it risky for nearly all Monterey County residents and tourists alike to get out out of of their homes for fresh air. A slew of park closures followed that including all state parks in Big Sur and Fort Ord Natio…

A ruling that promises to rein in the surcharges appearing on the water bills of $3 million ratepayers in Monterey County and elsewhere in California is coming up for a vote at the California Public Utilities Commission meeting on Thursday, Aug. 27 at 10am. 

Monday, August 24, 2020
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Saturday, August 22, 2020