Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, July 08, 2020
Wednesday, July 01, 2020

When I walked into the Seaside headquarters of Monterey County Weekly 13 years ago, to apply for a job as a writer, a loud rap song was bumping through the lobby. I asked the office manager, Linda Maceira, what that was about. She said it was “Hip-Hop Thursday.” Right then I knew I had to wo…

Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Paper Wing Theatre does big musical numbers, small productions with edgy plays, play-reading festivals featuring new works—the gamut. It's long occupied a building on Hoffman Avenue in New Monterey, which is slated to become apartments. That meant goodbye after 30-plus years as a performing …

Tuesday, June 09, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 05, 2020
Sunday, May 03, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 09, 2020
Sunday, March 08, 2020
Friday, March 06, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Thursday, February 06, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 09, 2020
Thursday, January 02, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Friday, December 06, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, November 08, 2019
Friday, November 01, 2019

CSU Monterey Bay is beginning to look more like a college campus and less like a former military base, thanks in large part to the new College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences building, which opened this semester. A ribbon-cutting on Oct. 11 marked the official grand opening for the b…

Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 04, 2019

Over Labor Day weekend, the 2019 Monterey County Fair offered all of the classics—lots of fried food on offer; performances, including the Macias Family acrobats on tour from Mexico; lots of carnival games with stuffed animals as prizes; spinning rides that lit up the night sky; kids' activi…

Sunday, September 01, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019

Seaside’s 73rd annual Obon Festival—a centuries old Japanese festival to honor the dead—was an awesome amalgam of community, culture and food. Parking was scarce around the Monterey Peninsula Buddhist Temple, but that didn’t stop the community from coming out in droves, an estimated 3,000 or…

Monday, July 08, 2019
Friday, July 05, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019