Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019

Seaside’s 73rd annual Obon Festival—a centuries old Japanese festival to honor the dead—was an awesome amalgam of community, culture and food. Parking was scarce around the Monterey Peninsula Buddhist Temple, but that didn’t stop the community from coming out in droves, an estimated 3,000 or…

Monday, July 08, 2019
Friday, July 05, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, March 04, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019

The 33rd annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. March and Celebration in Seaside wrapped up on Monday, Jan. 21. As it does every year, the city shuts down portions of Fremont Boulevard and Broadway/Obama Way for the march. That creates little incongruities in the regular flow of traffic and comme…

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

    It's a huge file, for best viewing click on the full screen icon. Prints available at http://viewing.mcdowellphoto.com/gallery/mcweekly/. Thank you, Glen McDowell.

    Thursday, October 18, 2018
    Friday, October 12, 2018
    Tuesday, September 04, 2018
    Monday, June 11, 2018
    Thursday, May 03, 2018
    Wednesday, May 02, 2018
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018
    Thursday, March 08, 2018
    Wednesday, March 07, 2018

    The premise of NBC's Rise is a bit like Disney's High School Musical. Except the teens probably are less stereotypical (think "jocks" and "theater geeks,") and more relatable, and it focuses less on a battle of the cliques and more on the power of community. In particular, the power of a an …

    Tuesday, March 06, 2018
    Thursday, January 25, 2018
    Monday, January 08, 2018
    Saturday, December 23, 2017
    Thursday, December 21, 2017

    From the Soberanes Fire to the Mud Creek slide and the closure of Pfeiffer Canyon Bridge in the past year—plus the more gradual increase of bigger and more tour buses—the coast of Big Sur hasn't been the same place for locals for a long time.

    Friday, December 01, 2017
    Monday, November 20, 2017
    Monday, October 30, 2017
    Thursday, September 21, 2017
    Thursday, August 10, 2017
    Thursday, August 03, 2017
    Wednesday, August 02, 2017
    Wednesday, July 19, 2017
    Wednesday, July 12, 2017

    The golden mid-June to early-July days of summer may be the best times for festivals around the county. BaconFest sizzled a couple weeks ago; BeerFest went down like a frosty pint last weekend; Monterey Pop returned in full glory for its 50th anniversary in mid June. And last week Sunday, th…

    Thursday, June 29, 2017
    Friday, June 09, 2017
    Thursday, June 01, 2017

    Tandy Beal & Company, based in Santa Cruz, is one of the most kid-friendly dance companies in the region. They smile in publicity photos. One of their signature pieces, Mixed Nutz, looks like a children's version of Cirque du Soleil. In another piece, the dancers playfully play babies in…

    Wednesday, May 31, 2017
    Wednesday, May 24, 2017