Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019

Long-term economic growth in Seaside has been an issue at the forefront of many recent discussions, and at 7pm, Thursday, Aug. 15, the City Council is scheduled to take another step towards supporting future job growth and business opportunities—hand in hand with knowledgeable volunteers.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 09, 2019
Wednesday, August 07, 2019

The players in what is Carmel’s long-running debate over beach fires were back on the field at the City Council meeting on Aug. 6 for another contest. The competitors—anti- versus pro- wood-burning fires—faced off with the usual plays, both offense and defense.

Monday, August 05, 2019
Thursday, August 01, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019

One of the largest real estate projects in the history of the Monterey Peninsula is entering the last phase of the planning process. Known as Campus Town, the proposed project in Seaside includes 1,500 housing units, 250 hotel rooms and considerable office and retail space.

Monday, July 29, 2019

Pay Back…Squid admits to having made a prank call or two as a squidlet back in the day before caller ID (“Hey there was a fight near your lair…several fish were battered!”). Squid found this pastime hilarious. Back then, young’ns only had access to landlines and phone books, and resulted in …

Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019

It's a first for California, and a first for State Sen. Bill Monning, D-Carmel. Gov. Gavin Newsom signed SB 200 into law today flanked by supporters in the Central Valley city of Sanger in a signing ceremony—the first such ceremony for the signing of any of Monning's 100-plus bills since he …

Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019

This year’s Bach Festival was disrupted Friday afternoon as Carmel Police investigated a bomb threat at the Sunset Center in Carmel. At 12:18pm, a group of youth sat in the Sunset Center to hear a performance, when a 10-year-old audience member received a text message that read:  “Bomb Plant…

Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019

The water utility for the Monterey Peninsula has overcome widespread opposition among ratepayers’ to its proposed desalination plant, securing a critical development permit from the county’s Board of Supervisors on July 15. 

Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 08, 2019

Tour de Gripe…Squid was tooling around Seaside on the Fourth of July on a bike, thinking that would be the best way to get to Bayonet and Black Horse to see the fireworks, no parking required. But the marine layer was so thick, Squid turned Squid’s attention to the unofficial firework shows …

Saturday, July 06, 2019
Friday, July 05, 2019
Wednesday, July 03, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019

The popular Golden Tee Restaurant and Bar will soon be under new ownership. Carmel’s Pepe International, helmed by veteran restaurateur Rich Pepe, has been approved to lease both the Monterey Regional Airport restaurant and the Flyaway Cafe, the latter of which is located in the secure area. 

Monday, July 01, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019

Last year, large public school districts like Salinas Union High School District announced that they would begin feeding all of their students no matter their families’ income. It meant moving away from giving out school lunch for free only to those students who qualified based on income, bu…