Thursday, October 21, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Friday, October 15, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Marina City Council is feeling bullish on their economic outlook, having approved a $57 million budget for the 2021-22 and 2022023 fiscal years. Well, at least part of the council—the unbalance budget, which is short by $500,000, was approved with just three votes, with Councilmember David B…

Monday, October 11, 2021
Friday, October 08, 2021

Making art can be a slow, deliberate process, but hanging it can sometimes be a frantic, last-minute effort. At the art hub The Shop in Monterey on Friday afternoon, Sea Sevilla was busy getting the finishing touches on her one-woman show, The Animal Kingdom, that's about to open imminently—…

Thursday, October 07, 2021
Tuesday, October 05, 2021
Monday, October 04, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021

The Meatery, which closed Aug. 22 after founding owners Kevin Hincks and Gina Nucci sold, is soon to reopen. After teasing that the space had found some “well equipped” new owners in August the announcement is now official—the high-end butcher shop and deli will be helmed by local celebrity …

Friday, September 17, 2021

Thirty Monterey County Jail inmates had tested positive for Covid-19 as of Monday, Sept. 13. As of late Thursday, four days later, that number grew by 100 to 130 inmates, according to the Monterey County Sheriff's Office. One inmate has been hospitalized.

Thursday, September 16, 2021
Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Sometimes, you have to change direction to get back to what's important. That’s the case for Chef Chris Watts, who recently left Carmel Valley Ranch for Salt Wood Kitchen in Marina. The restaurant's most recent executive chef was Paul Corsentino. 

It didn’t take long after polls closed on Tuesday, Sept. 14 for the writing to appear on the wall: Gov. Gavin Newsom, earning nearly 70 percent support from the more than 7 million early mail-in ballots cast, would defeat the recall election and finish out his first term as governor through 2022.

Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Monday, September 13, 2021
Sunday, September 12, 2021
Saturday, September 11, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021
Thursday, September 09, 2021
Wednesday, September 08, 2021
Tuesday, September 07, 2021
Monday, September 06, 2021
Thursday, September 02, 2021
Tuesday, August 31, 2021
Saturday, August 28, 2021
Friday, August 27, 2021

It was a triumphant moment for the coaches, athletes and board members of Monterey Peninsula Unified School District when, late on the evening of July 27, the board voted unanimously to approve a much anticipated project upgrading the Dan Albert Stadium at Monterey High School. 

Thursday, August 26, 2021