Friday, October 08, 2021

Making art can be a slow, deliberate process, but hanging it can sometimes be a frantic, last-minute effort. At the art hub The Shop in Monterey on Friday afternoon, Sea Sevilla was busy getting the finishing touches on her one-woman show, The Animal Kingdom, that's about to open imminently—…

Wednesday, September 08, 2021
Sunday, August 15, 2021
Friday, August 06, 2021
Thursday, August 05, 2021

After severe budget cuts, library services in Monterey are making a comeback. The Monterey Public Library has recently relaunched its bookmobile and has brought back a former librarian, Orquidea Olvera, to lead the way.

Wednesday, August 04, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021

To say that the Monterey Jazz Festival was missed during shelter-in-place might be an understatement. Tickets became available for sale to the general public for the 64th MJF on July 16, and four days later, they ran out. Per a press release, they officially sold out Tuesday, July 20. 

Friday, July 16, 2021

Ch...ch...ch...changes are happening at the Pacific Grove Museum of Natural History. If you haven't already dropped by, they have a new exhibit that bridges the museum's extensive collection with local history and science of the climate crisis they're calling Changes. The museum is also open…

Saturday, July 03, 2021
Thursday, July 01, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021

Live music is making a full comeback in all kinds of ways. Including alongside a glass of wine. Puma Road's tasting room has several musical acts scheduled including John Vicino playing on June 25 and Linda Arceo on June 26. Performances are from 5-7pm. The Puma Road Tasting Room is located …

Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
Friday, June 11, 2021

This Saturday is record store day. Celebrate with Recycled Records (504 Lighthouse Ave., Monterey). They're participating on June 12 and July 17 with a new vinyl release each day. Are you really even cool if you don't like vinyl? Visit their Facebook for updates or give them a ring at 375-54…

Friday, June 04, 2021

Fire up the kiln, Monterey GlassWorks is opening their giant garage door to reveal the inner-workings of their glassblowing studio. On June 5 starting at 3pmvisitors can drop by, bring a beer, nosh on some appetizers and watch glass blowers at work, including artists-in-residence Aya Oki and…

Friday, May 21, 2021
Friday, May 14, 2021
Friday, May 07, 2021

No excuses. Whether you’re staying home for the foreseeable future, or ready to stretch your legs and explore the real world again, the world of arts and culture in Monterey County is accessible to all. Here’s just a few events to look forward to this weekend, and beyond. 

Sunday, May 02, 2021
Friday, April 30, 2021

Plays? Yes, please. Drive-in movies and an Aquarium reopening? That, too. Tacos and beer and other delicious food offerings from food trucks? Of, course. This weekend and beyond, has a lot in store for Monterey County in the virtual and real world. 

Tuesday, April 27, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021

How does the phrase go? "So much to do, so little time." That's the case for this weekend and beyond in Monterey County thanks to an unusual amount of reopenings, special holidays (Earth and Arbor Day) and obscure holidays (like Independent Bookstore Day). What does that mean for an county i…

Saturday, April 17, 2021

Poet Kenya Burton got her hometown of Salinas talking about renewing the position of poet laureate again, after her former boss, 2018 city council candidate Andrew Sandoval, requested she be be appointed to the position. 

Friday, April 16, 2021

Welcome to the orange, Monterey County. So as restaurants, movie theaters and other entertainment venues make some adjustments and prepare for a big transition, here are few virtual and non-virtual events and contests to put on you calendars.

Friday, April 09, 2021

Welcome to the Orange Tier, Monterey County. As restaurants, movie theaters and other entertainment venues make some adjustments and prepare for a big transition, here are few virtual and non-virtual events to put on you calendars.

Sunday, April 04, 2021

Unlike many small local business, Old Capitol Books, once located on 559 Tyler St. in Monterey, didn't shut down during the pandemic because of the economic decline. Rent had been on the rise for some time in their former 2,500-square-foot location. The store announced its move and search fo…

Friday, April 02, 2021

Welcome to the Red Tier, Monterey County. So far it looks like we're staying put. As restaurants, movie theaters and other entertainment venues make some adjustments and prepare for a big transition, here are few virtual and non-virtual events and contests to put on you calendars.

Saturday, March 27, 2021

National Youth Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman's recital of her poem "The Hill We Climb" is having a ripple effect on the local level. It helped usher in Salinas' search for its very own youth poet laureate, and may have even inspired the competitors who participated in the Poetry Out Loud Compe…

Friday, March 26, 2021

Welcome to the Red Tier, Monterey County. As restaurants, movie theaters and other entertainment venues make some adjustments and prepare for a big transition, here are few virtual and non-virtual events and contests to put on you calendars. 

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

Though it is located in Carmel, the 100-plus year-old outdoor Forest Theater is an important stage, not only in the city but the surrounding communities as well. The theater company Pac Rep recruits local actors from all over the county, while all it's users, including the Forest Theater Gui…

Friday, March 19, 2021

Welcome to the Red Tier, Monterey County. As restaurants, movie theaters and other entertainment venues make some adjustments and prepare for a big transition, here are few virtual and non-virtual events and contests to put on you calendars. 

Monday, March 15, 2021

There is a distant glimmer of normalcy in the arts and entertainment world, as restaurants open back up for outdoor dining and entertainment (and indoor dining at limited capacity, expected as early as Wednesday, March 17—just in time for St. Patrick's Day), performance venues and gallery ge…

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Following National Youth Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman's performance of "The Hill We Climb" on Inauguration day, there was a renewed sense of the power of poetry. The effects even rippled all the way to Salinas, where former city council candidate and community organizer Andrew Sandoval began …

Tuesday, March 09, 2021

The city of Soledad celebrates its centennial today, Tuesday, March 9 with some creative Covid-safe festivities. There’s a cake contest at 2pm (streamed live via Facebook), a community desert grab n’ go at 3pm, and at 5pm a car parade down Front Street, ending at City Hall, followed by firew…

"The house is art in itself," says Kim Stemler, a board member of the newly formed Emile Norman Arts Foundation. Stemler is aptly commenting on the recently purchased house of Emile Norman, the Big Sur artist known for his mosaics, sculptures and woodwork. And his house, located on Pfeiffer …

Friday, March 05, 2021

There is a distant glimmer of normalcy in the arts and entertainment world, as restaurants open back up for outdoor dining (and entertainment) and performance venues and gallery get creative in the virtual world. Here are a few events to look forward to in the near future.

Friday, February 26, 2021

There is a distant glimmer of normalcy in the arts and entertainment world, as restaurants open back up for outdoor dining (and entertainment) and performance venues and gallery get creative in the virtual world. Here are a few events to look forward to in the near future.

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Set in Carmel-by-the-Sea, two CIA agents and former lovers are reunited years after a traumatic hostage situation in Vienna, Austria. Together, they mull over whether or not their agent had been compromised. This, in short, is the premise of American author Olen Steinhauer's spy fiction All …

Friday, February 19, 2021

There is a distant glimmer of normalcy in the arts and entertainment world, as restaurants open back up for outdoor dining (and entertainment) and performance venues and galleries get creative in the virtual world. Here are few events to look forward to in the near future.

Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Film classes are not usually a compulsory course in school, but that doesn't mean that there are a lack of aspiring local filmmakers out there. The Monterey County Film Commission is now accepting applications for the Richard Tyler Film Student Scholarship Award Program through April, 7, 2021. 

Saturday, February 13, 2021

The world of jazz just became a little quieter. On Feb. 9, the Armando Anthony Corea, better known as Chick Corea, passed away from a rare form of cancer that was diagnosed in its final stages. The announcement of his death was made on Corea's Instagram page on Thursday, Feb. 11.

Monday, February 08, 2021