Tuesday, November 15, 2022
Friday, October 28, 2022

Steve Copeland is a comic, clown and circus host, working with fellow performer Ryan Combs for almost 15 years. The pair are touring with Paranormal Cirque, an unusual big top spectacle in that its purpose is—in part—to startle audiences, or as he says, “to scare the pants off you.”

Wednesday, October 12, 2022
Friday, September 23, 2022
Wednesday, September 21, 2022
Friday, August 12, 2022

Tonight, Aug. 12, is the opening night of The Testament of Mary in the interpretation of actress/playwright Jane Press, directed by Maryann Schaupp Rousseau. This one-woman show, served in the tiny magical box of the Carl Cherry Center’s theater, is a lovely treat audiences will not regret. 

Friday, August 05, 2022
Thursday, August 04, 2022
Friday, July 22, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Tuesday, May 03, 2022

We don’t typically write about Santa Cruz bands but we have a dual pretext to do so in the case of Smoke Chaser, a newly formed collaboration of singer-songwriter Ryan Masters (vocals, rhythm guitar), guitarist Jon Spivak and the drummer Eric Satzman that also happens to include a Pacific Gr…

Monday, April 04, 2022

Every collection has its beginning. There is always an element of coincidence and luck, but great collections are born out of years of systematic decisions, relentless pursuit and meticulous order. There is also the will and a skill to impose order, a talent not uncommon among lawyers. Here’…

Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022

The life and works of one of our biggest local literary stars, Scotland-born writer Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894) will be discussed on Monday March 21, followed by a cup of tea. Join famed Stevenson historian, Santa Rosa-based Roger G. Swearingen, and the Carmel Woman's Club in a litera…

Tuesday, March 08, 2022
Monday, March 07, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Last week I invited the community (and myself) to a new movie starring Channing Tatum titled Dog, which—in my naivete—I hastily interpreted as a goofy comedy at best (think 21 Jump Street) and a family-friendly tearjerker such as Lassie, at worst. I mean, how bad it can be, right? I thought …

Monday, February 14, 2022

Channing Tatum driving along Big Sur’s coastline in a new movie Dog from MGM that hits theaters Friday, Feb. 18 is a pretty universal post-Valentine’s Day treat or just a casual feel-good comedy. The movie is a perfect eye candy (the cutest guy, the cutest dog, the cutest ocean), but it will…

Friday, February 11, 2022
Friday, January 07, 2022
Wednesday, December 29, 2021

UPDATE: Walt DeFaria was seriously injured after being hit by a car on Dec. 31, a couple of days after this interview was conducted. He is in stable condition at Natividad hospital, where he was treated in the trauma center and doctors predict a four- to six-week stay. He is now undergoing r…

Friday, December 10, 2021
Thursday, December 02, 2021

Artists Ink., a nonprofit arts organization based in East Salinas, and Teatro Xochitl Ollin, a group of young storytellers within Artists Ink., are preparing for auditions and the production of a short film titled East Side Cenicienta, a modern take on Cinderella based in the community of th…

Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Friday, October 08, 2021

Making art can be a slow, deliberate process, but hanging it can sometimes be a frantic, last-minute effort. At the art hub The Shop in Monterey on Friday afternoon, Sea Sevilla was busy getting the finishing touches on her one-woman show, The Animal Kingdom, that's about to open imminently—…

Wednesday, September 08, 2021
Sunday, August 15, 2021
Friday, August 06, 2021
Thursday, August 05, 2021

After severe budget cuts, library services in Monterey are making a comeback. The Monterey Public Library has recently relaunched its bookmobile and has brought back a former librarian, Orquidea Olvera, to lead the way.

Wednesday, August 04, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021

To say that the Monterey Jazz Festival was missed during shelter-in-place might be an understatement. Tickets became available for sale to the general public for the 64th MJF on July 16, and four days later, they ran out. Per a press release, they officially sold out Tuesday, July 20. 

Friday, July 16, 2021

Ch...ch...ch...changes are happening at the Pacific Grove Museum of Natural History. If you haven't already dropped by, they have a new exhibit that bridges the museum's extensive collection with local history and science of the climate crisis they're calling Changes. The museum is also open…

Saturday, July 03, 2021
Thursday, July 01, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021

Live music is making a full comeback in all kinds of ways. Including alongside a glass of wine. Puma Road's tasting room has several musical acts scheduled including John Vicino playing on June 25 and Linda Arceo on June 26. Performances are from 5-7pm. The Puma Road Tasting Room is located …

Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021