Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 09, 2019
Tuesday, October 08, 2019
Monday, October 07, 2019
Friday, October 04, 2019

The Salinas Police Officers Association, the union that represents the Salinas Police Department's rank-and-file officers, has taken a vote of "no confidence" in Chief Adele Fresé, a mostly symbolic gesture that nonetheless exemplifies the growing fracture between the three-year chief and so…

Thursday, October 03, 2019

Sand City hired Aaron Blair as its new city manager at the Oct. 1 City Council meeting, filling a position that was vacated more than a year ago. Blair previously served two years as town manager in Granby, Colorado, a city of about 2,000 near Rocky Mountain National Park. 

Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Tuesday, October 01, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019

Publish or Perish…Squid has been anxiously following the issue of short-term rentals on the Peninsula, as Squid admits to earning a little extra scratch by renting out a futon in a corner of the lair for otters traveling on holiday. (Pro tip: You can charge them extra because in addition to …

Sunday, September 29, 2019

There was no shortage of cool musical options on a frigid Friday night at the Fairgrounds. Allison Miller and Derrick Hodges’ tribute to the late pianist Mary Lou Williams was lovely, with especially plaintive vocals from Jean Baylor, Johnaye Kendrick and Michael Mayo on “It Ain’t Necessaril…

Monday, September 23, 2019
Saturday, September 21, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019

Federal immigration agents arrested a man at the Monterey County Superior Court in Salinas on Friday morning Sept. 20, setting off a chain reaction as court officials try to determine the man's identity and why they weren't alerted to the arrest by courthouse security staff.

Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Saturday, September 14, 2019

Every June, the Monterey County Agricultural Commissioner releases the Crop Report, the definitive annual snapshot of the status of the county’s number one industry, worth $4.2 billion in 2018. For the past three crop report announcements at least one commodity has been the elephant in the f…

Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019

If there’s one thing the Monterey Bay area has plenty of, it’s fog. A researcher at CSU Monterey Bay does not see the low-hanging cloud formation as a weather condition but as a sustainable source of water. (It turns out that in every cubic yard’s worth of fog, there’s a droplet of water the…

Monday, September 09, 2019

Power Vacuum...Squid admits that sometimes democracy can get a little messy. Like how they say every vote counts and yet the Electoral College still exists...and now here we are. But at the local level, Squid can see first-hand how loud the room can get when everyone is speaking. 

Friday, September 06, 2019
Wednesday, September 04, 2019
Tuesday, September 03, 2019
Monday, September 02, 2019