Skip to main content

Featured

Monday, December 05, 2022
Friday, December 02, 2022
Wednesday, November 30, 2022
featured

Results for the 2022 California midterm election began to trickle in throughout the evening on Election Day, Nov. 8, with early voting and vote-by-mail totals first announced around 8pm. Further counts were provided in the following days.

Wednesday, November 23, 2022

After an overwhelming victory on Election Day, Sheriff-elect Tina Nieto was ready to get started on her transition plans from Marina police chief to Monterey County sheriff immediately. She'd already heard from outgoing Sheriff Steve Bernal on election night to congratulate her, and say he'd…

Monday, November 21, 2022
Saturday, November 19, 2022

Monterey County Elections officials announced late Friday that they are planning to "escalate" manual tallies in two Pacific Grove races—City Council between Debby Beck and Tina Rau plus a measure to shrink the council size—and the race for Washington Union School District. 

Thursday, November 17, 2022
Tuesday, November 15, 2022
Monday, November 14, 2022

The Federal Student Aid Office of the U.S. Department of Education has stopped taking applications for President Joe Biden's student loan debt relief program after a district court judge in Texas ruled it was unlawful.

Saturday, November 12, 2022
Friday, November 11, 2022

Robert Rivas, who was elected on Tuesday to his third term in the California Assembly, will become California's next Speaker of the Assembly. It is a critical and powerful role in Sacramento, and one that Rivas' Democratic colleagues unanimously voted him into yesterday, Nov. 10, just two da…

Thursday, November 10, 2022
Wednesday, November 09, 2022

Tina Nieto made history on Tuesday, Nov. 8. She is poised to become the first woman, first person of color and first openly gay person to be elected as Monterey County sheriff, and along with two other Latinas who were elected in the June primary, will join a three-person cohort of the first…

Tuesday, November 08, 2022
Monday, November 07, 2022
Wednesday, November 02, 2022
Tuesday, November 01, 2022
Thursday, October 27, 2022
Wednesday, October 26, 2022
Tuesday, October 25, 2022

The Housing Authority of the County of Monterey has a new executive director, Zulieka Boykin, from Alabama. The HACM Board of Commissioners voted 5-0 (with one commissioner absent) on Monday, Oct. 24, in favor of offering Boykin a four-year contract with a starting annual salary of $250,000.…

Friday, October 21, 2022
Tuesday, October 18, 2022
Wednesday, October 12, 2022
Monday, October 10, 2022

On Sunday, Oct. 2, the IT team at Hartnell College noticed abnormal activity on the college's network. In response they manually shut down the network, and Hartnell officials say the activity "is related to a sophisticated ransomware attack." 

Friday, October 07, 2022
Wednesday, October 05, 2022

The Weekly has gone daily.

Receive our Latest NewsToolbox to community events, In Context stories, plus Local Inspiration and Helpful Distractions.

Your email is never shared.